Nighthawks wrap up 2017-18 season with awards ceremony

Nighthawks wrap up 2017-18 season with awards ceremony

(Photo Gallery)

ANNANDALE – The Northern Virginia Community College athletic department honored the 2017-18 Nighthawk student-athletes Monday at the annual all sports banquet at the Springfield Hilton.

Over 40 student-athletes were named to the Athletic Director Honor Roll for carrying a GPA of 3.0 or better in a semester or academic year. Also honored were the Nighthawks cross country team for capturing its fourth NJCAA Region 20, along with the volleyball and soccer teams who were each one victory away from winning their respective Region 20 Tournament crowns.

Thirteen student-athletes were also recognized for garnering All-NJCAA Region 20 for their efforts on the field.

2017-18 Team Awards

Men's Basketball
Coaches Award: Trevaun Hyatt
MVP: Frank Agyemang

Women's Basketball
Coaches Award: Dima Kassem
MVP: Jalita Montgomery

Cross Country
Coaches Award: Sarah Dierlam
MVP: Kmaljeet Athwal

Coaches Award: Calvin Shade
MVP: William Russell

Coaches Award: Christopher Worrell
MVP: Joseph Germano

Coaches Award: Jose Marin
MVP: Oscar Mbome

Coaches Award: Chantal Gruber
MVP: Chyann Hooker

Coaches Award: Nikola Knapova
MVP: Sarah Abisourour